People in Fort Smith mostly use their cars to get around since the city isn’t wonderful for walking, and there are few public transportation options. The typical family has two cars. Families in Fort Smith need a policy that covers both cars if they want to stay safe and legally on the road.
Car Insurance In Fort Smith Ar
The average car insurance fee in Arkansas will differ from city to city and insurance company to insurance company. Insurify looked at the most recent Fort Smith, AR, insurance rates to find you the cheapest quotes in the area.
Cheapest Car Insurance In Fort Smith, AR
The price of car insurance can vary from one insurance company to another. That’s because each insurance company puts a different amount of weight on things like your driving record and credit score. So even though the following car insurance companies have, on average, the cheapest premiums, you should always compare quotes. Use Insurify to find the best rate for you right now!
|Insurance Provider in Fort Smith||Quotes|
|State Farm||$63 /mo|
|Direct Auto||$149 /mo|
|The General||$204 /mo|
Best Car Insurance In Fort Smith, Arkansas
The Insurify Composite Score is made by looking at several factors that show how good, trustworthy, and healthy an insurance company is. The score is based on ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch for financial strength, as well as ratings from J.D. Power; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, reviews of mobile apps, and user-generated reviews of companies. Here are the most highly rated car insurance companies in Fort Smith. See Insurify’s list of the best car insurance companies for the full list.
- Advertisement -
|American Family||89||$198 /mo|
|Liberty Mutual||82||$198 /mo|
Average Cost Of Car Insurance
Rates For Fort Smith Car Insurance By Driver Age
Young drivers under 20 should know that their car insurance rates are the highest in the area. These people pay almost $400 for insurance, but once they turn 20, the average price drops to $212. When drivers in Fort Smith reach their 30s, they save even more and pay around $130. However, premiums tend to go up with age, and people in their 80s pay $207.
|Driver’s Age||Avg. Monthly Cost|
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Arkansas
All cars that are driven or parked on Arkansas roads need to have insurance. You must always have proof of insurance in your car and have it ready when:
- law enforcement asked for
- Renewing a vehicle’s registration
- The vehicle is in a car accident
In Arkansas, the following are the minimum requirements for liability insurance on private passenger vehicles:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries
As a big part of your liability insurance, bodily damage coverage pays for the medical bills of people who are hurt in an accident but are not the policyholder. Arkansas is an “at-fault” state, meaning that the driver who caused the accident must also pay for any damages, either through their car insurance or out of pocket.
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
If an accident happens and it turns out that an insured driver was at fault, this coverage pays to fix the other people’s cars. Property damage coverage can also pay legal fees if the accident leads to a lawsuit against the insured driver.
Fort Smith, Arkansas DMV Information
The Arkansas DMV has a website where you can register your car or renew your registration. And you can go to either of the two Fort Smith Revenue Offices if you need a REAL ID. You can easily buy a policy online if you need proof of insurance for your registration. Even if you already have car insurance, you can get a better rate through Insurify.
Public Transportation In Fort Smith, AR
In Fort Smith, 81 percent of workers drive alone to work, and another 12 percent carpool. Within the city limits, there are fixed-route buses, but less than 1% of workers take them to work. And only about 2% of people in Fort Smith walk to work because it’s hard to get around on foot. Uber, Lyft, and regular taxis are all available in the city, but they can be expensive for long-term travel.
Arkansas is an “at-fault” state, meaning the driver who caused the accident must also pay for any damages. Premiums tend to go up with age, and people in their 80s pay $207.50 for car insurance compared to $212 for those under 20.
The Arkansas DMV has a website where you can register your car or renew your registration. Within the city limits, there are fixed-route buses, but less than 1% of workers take them to work. Uber, Lyft, and regular taxis are all available in Fort Smith.